h1

Holland

June 17, 2008

Hello from The Netherlands!

A co-worker and I are here for a 2 week project with one of our clients. Last Sunday afternoon, we flew from Seattle to Amsterdam (via Copenhagen) arriving at our hotel late Monday evening. We’ve put in a lot of time at the office but fortunately, we have had the chance to do some sightseeing.

This is my fifth trip to The Netherlands. I’ve been over three times with friends and twice for work. I never planned to spend this much time here, it just kind of happened. The first trip was planned. We wanted to go to London and Amsterdam so we dug around until we could find affordable tickets and off we went. The next two trips were the other way around. Both times, we happened across cheap tickets to Amsterdam before we had even discussed visiting.

The work trips have been even more random. I was unemployed and went to a going away party for a former co-worker. While I was there, my old boss mentioned some possible contracting opportunities. Two days later I was in Toronto for an extended stay (8 weeks) and just a few days after returning to the States, I was on an SAS flight to Schiphol Airport. That trip lasted three months, giving me a great introduction to life with the Dutch.

Leave a Reply

