h1

Indianapolis 500

May 15, 2007

If you’re from Indiana, there’s a good chance that the first thing that comes to mind when someone brings up the Month of May or Memorial Day, is the Indianapolis 500.

If you’ve never been, it’s one hell of a treat. The people watching is unparalleled and the first green lap is one of the most amazing things you can ever experience.

I try to go every year but rising airfares kept me away last year and it’s starting to look the same way this year. Also, both this year and last I was in the middle of a big project at work that limited the days I could take off. This year tickets have been $500 plus since I started looking about a month ago and now they’re up to $650 if you can find a seat. Here’s the current view of Southwest’s availability:

Southwest

Next year I’ll have to adjust my budget and plan so I’m not sitting at home watching the race on TV. Unfortunately, I said the same damn thing last year.

The sting is lessened somewhat by the fact that for the first time, the race is being shown in HD.

Fortunately, the internet makes it a lot easier to be half a continent away. One of my the best websites for keeping up with all the gossip is Trackforum.com. The past few years it has featured great pictures and commentary from a gentleman that goes by the name Walter Zoomie. Here is this year’s edition.

One comment

  1. Dear Sir:

    Thank you for your kind words. I am glad and it makes me smile that you are enjoying my foolishness here on the intardwebs.



Leave a Reply

