h1

Valentine’s Day Lesson #121

February 17, 2007

Valentine’s Day was coming up and I still didn’t have a gift for Michele. While I’m not necessarily a fan of the (pretty much manufactured) holiday, I still wanted to come up with a cool present. Something unique that she probably wouldn’t buy for herself.

Suddenly I hit on it. Fluevogs! After work I would go down to the Fluevog store and buy her the pair of shoes she had admired in the window the last time we had walked by.

I got off work and headed down to the store. On the way down I called Michele’s friend Alli so verify her shoe size.

She answered and I explained what I was doing and asked if she knew her size by chance. “Six and a half although lately she’s been wearing sevens.”

Wow. For the record, with the exception of my brother, I don’t have any idea what any of my friend’s shoes sizes are. It’s a safe bet that none of them know my shoe size either.

I made it down to the store and it turned out they were having a sale! Alright! I walked in and quickly realized that I wasn’t going to be able to remember which pair of shoes she had liked. In fact, after a few more minutes of looking around, I decided that I probably shouldn’t even try to pick something out for her. All of their shoes are very stylistic with some that end up très cool and some that turn out to be complete disasters (at least to my Morgan County fashion sense).

“Well,” I thought, “I can just get her something I think she’ll like and give it to her with the caveat that she can take them back and trade them for something she really wants.”

No luck. “All sales are final,” the sales girl explained when I told her of my predicament. “You can talk to the Manager but he won’t be in until Wednesday.”

I decided to drop the idea. I thanked the girl and left the store, heading up to the bus stop at Third Street. Fifteen minutes later I was on my way home, trying to come up with another idea.

Then it hit me. I’d already told Alli what I was getting Michele. And it’s not that I don’t trust Alli to keep a secret, it’s more that on the occasional night, Michele plus Alli plus a couple of glasses of wine equals instant truth serum. Valentines was still a few days off and I had no idea if they planning on hanging out together between now and then. Looks like I was going to have to figure out some way to swing the shoes.

Lesson learned.

Leave a Reply

