h1

Commuting

February 17, 2007

It was Valentines Day and I was taking off from work a little early. I still needed to get down to the shoe store to buy Michele a gift certificate while still making it home in time to make our dinner reservations.

It had been a long day at work and I had a lot on my mind as I was leaving the office. My mind was definitely elsewhere as I headed down Pine Street towards the store.

I purchased the gift certificate and headed back up the street. As I was crossing Third, I looked to my right and saw the 26 Express pulling into the stop. I ran down the sidewalk and made it in the back door just before he pulled away. I put my headphones on and zoned out to the Bob and Tom Show for the ride home.

I got off of the bus and started walking home. I crossed Kensington and turned down our alley to stop by the garage to grab some CDs I’d left out there the night before. I opened the door and for a split second thought that someone had stolen my car again.

In the next split second I remembered that I’d driven to work that morning. My car was still in the parking garage downtown.

Son of a…….

Leave a Reply

