h1

Fried Chicken Part II

February 10, 2007

Superbowl Sunday was my first attempt at making deep fried chicken. If I do say so myself, it ended up tasting awfully darned good.

I come from a long line of Chicken Fryers on my Dad’s side. Both my Grandma and my Aunt Vera are legends in the world of Southern Fried Chicken. My cousin Terry is carrying on the family tradition at her own restaurant. My Dad carries on the tradition in his own way by being an expert fried chicken eater.

I called my Aunt Vera and got a couple of tips from her. Then I looked up the recipe in the New Best Recipe from America’s Test Kitchen (best cookbook ever). For the most part, they both said the same thing. Soak the chicken in a buttermilk brine beforehand then use a batter with buttermill and eggs. I added my own touch by adding Buffalo Wing Sauce to the batter.

I got everything ready the night before. Then, I got up at 7:00 am and threw the chicken in the brine. I crawled back in bed until 9:00 am, when I had to move the chicken from the brine to a rack over the sink. Once most of the brine dripped off, the chicken went back in the fridge for a couple hours.

Mike showed up at around 11:00 am and we heated up the oil, battered the chicken and fried it up. Eight Breasts, 12 thighs and 10 legs. It was a ridiculous.

It was nice that Mike was there as he’s put in a lot of previous deep fryer time. He gave me a couple of hints that made things easier.

Once I was done, we loaded up the car and headed out to the SuperBowl Party. I’m proud to say, with the exception of one breast, all of the chicken was eaten.

Fried Chicken

Leave a Reply

