h1

Editing Video

February 3, 2007

Arrghhh!

I have the AFC Championship Game Tivo’d and I decided to save a copy of it offline. It was the greatest football game I’ve ever seen and I want to make sure I’ll be able to enjoy it for the years to come.

I didn’t figure it’d be any big deal. I’m relatively savvy with a PC and all I needed to do was burn it to a DVD, preferably in a format that would let me play it directly on a DVD player.

First step: Convert to a standard file type. Tivo files are basically encrypted mpegs so I needed to find software to convert the file from a .TIVO to a .MPEG. I found what needed here.

(as an aside, I have no qualms about hacking the .tivo encryption. I’m not uploading it to Bit Torrent, I’m not selling it, I just want to back it up so I don’t lose it.)

When I recorded it, I started it an hour early for the pregame and had it run two hours late so I wouldn’t miss anything if it went into overtime. Mistake. In retrospect, I should have recorded it in three segments.

“No worries. There are a million video editors, I’ll just download one and clip the beginning and end of the video so I only have the game itself.”

Unfortunately, I soon learned it’s not that easy. It turns out that mpegs can’t really be edited that way because of the nature of their compression. So now the .MPEG needs to be converted to a .AVI.

“OK, it’s all good, I’ll just dig around and find a file converter.”

By now it’s 12:30 am. I grab a beer and hit the Google. An hour later I’ve tried four different pieces of software and I’m still without a converted file. The mpeg is over 10 GB in size and none of the software can import it to begin the conversion.

Finally at 2:30 am or so, I finally find something that looks like it’ll work. I start the import and go to bed. I got up this morning and the program had a Dialogue Window touting it’s successful conversion of the file.

Stupid lying software.

It’s now 2:30 pm and I’m still trying to figure it out. I’m going the research route this time, as opposed to downloading everything that looks like it’ll work. I’m starting to think Quicktime Pro.

2 comments

  1. God man, that Superbowl thing really has got a hold of your country, hasn’t it? Anyway, I hope you enjoyed the victory. For reasons of perspective, let me inform you that here in Europe there are two real World Championships going on simultaneously; Alpine (here in Sweden) and Biathlon (in Italy). And next week or so the Cross-country World Championships starts in Japan. These are the kind of sport events we like up here in Scandinavia: medal opportunities every day!


  2. Now if we could just figure out how to get the audio from Lamey added to it…



Leave a Reply

