h1

Lasik

January 25, 2007

Last week I went and got my Drivers License renewed.

When I moved here in 2001, I went in to transfer my license from North Carolina and ended up flunking the test. I had even studied for the damn thing. I passed it the second time but to tell you the truth, none of the study materials were any help when it comes to driving in Seattle. Nothing about roundabouts, loading and unloading ferries, ridiculously narrow, steep streets or intersections sans stop or yield signs.

I drove up to the Greenwood branch for the license renewal. I took a number when I got there, 229, and they were only on 210. To kill time I wandered about, checking out the neighborhood. Turns out, it’s a really cool area.

When I finally made my way back to the license branch they were on 228. A few minutes later they called my number. I made my way to the counter and went about the business of renewning my license. He updated all of my info and told me it was a $35 fee. I thanked him, grabbed my wallet and handed him my credit card. He shook his head and said cash only.

75 minutes and two lines later I ended up with a temporary license with a promise that mine would be delivered in the mail sometime in the next few days.

All of this is kind of hazy as I can only really remember one thing.

No restrictions on my license.

I had Lasik surgery 2 years ago and had no problem passing the vision test for my license renewal. For the first time in 23 years, I don’t need glasses or contacts to drive.

It was defintely the high point of my week. There is nothing better than finally being able to see without glasses or contacts.

Later, I had a Pulled Pork sandwich at the Pig and Whistle that made a good day even better.

Leave a Reply

